Heligoland (2000)



9-track Album/CaCl 003
Label: Calcium Chloride
Release Spring 2000

1. Lost and Lethal
2. Shrug
3. Bluebird
4. Relapse
5. Shock Treatment
6. Isn’t it Sad
7. Loaded Gun
8. Sick Baby You
9. The Kiss-off

A mixed wind and string quartet fights it out with a lot of distortion, but still “able to be played by a busker in the subway”. Features drumming from Jim White of  the Dirty Three on some tracks, and members of Catherine Wheel on others.


September 2002. Jim Irvin

Mojo review topMojo review bottom

August 2002. Neil Davenport.

Uncut review

Record Collector
June 2002. Jono Scott

Record Collector review

Sunday Telegraph
June 16 2002. James Delingpole

Sunday Telegraph review topSunday Telegraph bottom